Governor McCrory Names Allen Next Chairman of the N.C. Industrial Commission

Raleigh, N.C.

Governor Pat McCrory has designated Charlton L. Allen of Iredell County as the next Chairman of the North Carolina Industrial Commission. Allen will succeed current Industrial Commission Chairman Andrew T. Heath, who will become State Budget Director effective February 1st.
“Charlton Allen will continue the high standards of leadership and excellence of Chairman Andrew Heath at the Industrial Commission,” Governor McCrory said. “I am proud to have these dedicated public servants on our team.”
Governor McCrory previously appointed Allen as a member of the Industrial Commission in 2014.  Allen is a graduate of the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill and received his Juris Doctor degree from the University of North Carolina School of Law.  Prior to his service as a Commissioner, Allen was an attorney in private practice.  
The North Carolina Industrial Commission administers the Workers’ Compensation Act, the Tort Claims Act, the Childhood Vaccine-Related Injury Act, the Law Enforcement Officers’, Firemen’s, Rescue Squad Workers’, and Civil Air Patrol Members’ Death Benefit Act, the Act to Compensate Individuals Erroneously Convicted of Felonies, and the Eugenics Compensation Program.

This press release is related to: