Donate to Hurricane Recovery

Gov. Cooper Names New Judges for Mecklenburg County, Surry and Stokes Counties


Today, Gov. Roy Cooper announced two new judicial appointments for courts serving Mecklenburg County and Surry and Stokes counties.
“These appointees will bring strong legal experience to their new appointments along with proven dedication to their communities,” Gov. Cooper said. “They will be valuable additions to our courts.”
Gov. Cooper has appointed Judge Donnie Hoover as a Superior Court Judge in District 26A, serving Mecklenburg County. He replaces Superior Court Judge Yvonne Mims-Evans, who retired this month.
Judge Hoover brings more than thirty years of experience to his new appointment. Before being appointed to the Mecklenburg County District Court bench in 2008, he worked in private practice in the Charlotte area for more than 24 years, handling a diverse range of cases before the District and Superior Courts. For the past nine years, he has served as a volunteer judge for the Charlotte-Mecklenburg School System’s Truancy Court program. Judge Hoover holds degrees from the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill and North Carolina Central University School of Law.
Gov. Cooper appointed Gretchen Kirkman as a District Court Judge in District 17B, serving Surry and Stokes counties. She replaces Judge Charles Neaves.
Kirkman has worked as an attorney in private practice for more than 17 years, specializing in family law, juvenile law, and criminal defense. She has served as a sole practitioner since 2004, managing various cases before both District and Superior Courts. Kirkman holds degrees from the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill and Wake Forest University School of Law.