Governor’s Teacher Advisory Committee

About the Committee

On August 17, 2017 Governor Cooper issued Executive Order 16, establishing the Governor’s Teacher Advisory Committee to advise the Governor on a variety of educational issues. The Committee is comprised of 25 teachers and instructional support personnel appointed by Governor Cooper.

The GTAC advises the Governor on a range of education issues, particularly those of importance to teachers.  Members of the GTAC serve as education ambassadors, represent the Governor at events, maintain communication with local boards of education, teachers across the state, and other stakeholders, and share opportunities to support teachers.

Committee Members

Name School/Organization District
Tomika  Altman-Lewis Seawell Elementary School Chapel Hill-Carborro County 
Lara Brickhouse Behavior Consultation and Psychological Services Buncombe/Davie County 
Deborah Brown Research Triangle High School Wake County 
Bobbie Cavnar South Point High School Gaston County
Christine Conley Broughton High School Wake County 
NaShonda L. Cooke Carrol Middle School Wake County
LeAnna Delph Joe P. Eblen Intermediate School  Buncombe County 
David Diamont Retired Educator Surry County 
Lisa Godwin Dixon Elementary School Onslow County 
Dee Grissett Career and Technical Education-Central Office Robeson County 
Mark Jewell NCAE Wake County
Tasha Martinez Warsaw Middle School Duplin County 
Denise McCoy Kimmel Farm Elementary School Winston-Salem Forsyth County 
Freebird McKinney Williams High School Alamance-Burlington County 
Elyse McRae South Central High School Pitt County 
Julio Morales Mattamuskeet Elementary School Hyde County
Kimberly Perry-Sanderlin Brogden Middle School Durham County 
Juandalynn Ray Teacher Advancement-Central Office Clinton City 
Brad Rhew Petree Elementary School Winston-Salem Forsyth County 
Mireya Ruiz Siler City Elementary Chatham County 
Nicole Sikes Anson High School Anson County 
Kimberly Strickland River Dell Elementary  Johnston County 
Mark Townley NC State University Wake County 
Keana Triplett Watauga High School Watauga County